Mike Chaney Commissioner of Insurance



501 N. West St., Suite 1001 Woolfolk State Office Building Jackson, MS 39201 P.O. Box 79 Jackson, MS 39205

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI Mississippi Insurance Department www.mid.ms.gov

## INDEPENDENT ADJUSTER ENTITY LICENSING INSTRUCTIONS Effective February 7, 2023

- 1.) The **independent adjuster entity application** must be completed in its entirety (all questions answered, signed and dated). This form shall be used to obtain a resident or non-resident adjuster entity license.
- 2.) Privilege tax payments (license fees): \$400.00 (resident and non-resident). Renewal fees are the same. A late fee of \$200.00 is imposed if renewal paperwork is not received prior to the expiration date.
- 3.) For resident and non-resident corporations, a complete copy of the corporate charter approved by the Mississippi Secretary of State's Office must be attached to the business entity's application.
- 4.) For resident and non-resident partnerships, a copy of the certificate of limited partnership approved by the Mississippi Secretary of State's Office must be attached to the application.
- 5.) Non-Resident independent adjusting entities are not required to submit a Letter of Certification from their home state department with an application. The MID staff will verify home state licensure through the NAIC Producer Database. The name on the application must match the name in the producer database and the Mississippi Secretary of State's Office Registration. Non-Resident independent adjusting entities must hold an independent adjuster entity license in their resident state. If a Non-Resident independent adjusting entity's resident state does not offer independent adjuster entity licenses, a letter must be provided from their Resident State Insurance Department stating that such state does not require a license for an independent adjuster entity's to engage in the business of insurance in their state.
- 6.) A minimum of one Mississippi-licensed independent adjuster who is responsible for the independent adjusting entities compliance with insurance laws, rules, and regulations of this state must be listed on the application.
- 7.) Independent adjuster entities may have multiple locations without having to obtain multiple licenses. All branch locations must be listed on the original application as an attachment.
- 8.) License renewal notices will be emailed approximately 90 days prior to the license expiration to the business email address on record.
- 9.) All independent adjuster entity licenses will be issued on a biennial basis with an expiration date of May 31.