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General:

HB 323 - Insurance companies; require to
establish an internal audit function.

Approved: 3/15/2019
Effective: 1/1/2020

Amends 88§ 83-5-102, 83-5-119, and creates § 83-5-120 to require
insurers to establish an internal audit function providing independent,
objective and reasonable assurance to the audit committee and insurer
management regarding the insurer’s governance, risk management and
internal controls.

HB 324 - Insurance companies; require to file a
corporate governance annual disclosure with the
Commissioner of Insurance.

Approved: 3/15/2019
Effective: 1/1/2020

Requires insurance companies to file a Corporate Governance Annual
Disclosure (CGAD) with the commissioner; provides for certain public
records protection for said CGAD; and provides penalties against
insurers for failing to timely file CGAD.

SB 2831 - Insurance Data Security Law; create

Approved: 3/15/2019
Effective: 7/1/2019

Creates the Insurance Data Security Law which will require insurance
licensees in this state to develop, implement and maintain and
information security program; to require notification and investigation
of a cybersecurity event; and to provide for certain exemptions for
insurance producers, adjusters, and bank-owned insurance agencies
that are subject to Granm-Leech-Bliley. Information regarding the
implementation of SB 2831 can be found at the following link:
http://www.mid.ms.gov/companies/cybersecurityreport.aspx .

SB 2835 - Mississippi First Responders Health
and Safety Act; create.

Approved: 4/4/2019
Effective: 7/1/2021

Creates the “Mississippi First Responders Health and Safety Act”
which establishes a local benefits policy for occupational hazards as it
relates to first responders as an alternative to workers compensation.
The local benefits policy would provide:
o Benefits paid to fire and police officers who have 10 or more
years on the job.
e  $35,000 lump sum benefit if diagnosed with metastasized
cancer or terminal cancer.
e  $6,250 lump sum benefit if diagnosed with non-metastasized
cancer.



http://www.mid.ms.gov/companies/cybersecurityreport.aspx

e Combined benefits cannot exceed $50,000 in a lifetime.
e Disability benefits to begin 6 months after the date of

disability:
o 60% of monthly salary for career fire and police up
to $5,000.00.

o  $1,500 per month for volunteer firefighters
e The Attorney General’s Office shall have certain
administrative functions regarding this Act.
e The bill also amends 871-3-9 to allow counties and
municipalities to provide this coverage in lieu of certain
workers compensation coverage.

SB 2864 - Mississippi Insurance Guaranty
Association Law; revise the definition of "covered
claim".

Approved: 3/22/2019
Effective: 7/1/2019

Amends §883-23-109 and 83-23-115 to provide that a covered claim
shall not include any claim that has been rejected or denied by any
other state guaranty fund if said rejection or denial was based upon that
state’s statutory exclusions regarding the insured’s net worth, and to
provide that a covered claim shall not include a claim filed after the
final date set by the court for the filing of claims against the liquidator
or receiver of an insolvent insurer.

Health:

HB 628 - Health insurance; revise mandatory
policy provisions to penalize late payments of
claims.

Approved: 3/22/2019
Effective: 7/1/2019

Amends Section 83-9-5 to require accident and health insurance
policies to include additional provisions that penalize late payment of
claims by insurer to health care provider or insured. Specifically, for
claims that remain unpaid due to an invalid or improper denial, a 3%
monthly interest penalty shall be assessed until the claim is paid or
adjudicated. This provision does not apply to claims or benefits owed
under Medicare Advantage plans or Medicare Advantage Prescription
Drug plans. If an insurer is found to have acted in bad faith, the person
entitled to such benefits (health provider or insured) shall be entitled to
recover damages in an amount up to three times the amount of the
benefits that remain unpaid until the claim is settled or adjudicated.




HB 752 - Dental Insurance benefits; prohibit the
denial or recoupment of a claim in certain
circumstances

Approved: 3/19/2019
Effective: 7/1/2019

Amends 83-51-1 to provide for a definition of “dental service
contractor” and “subscriber”, and creates a new section to require a
dental service contract to establish and maintain appeal procedures for
any claim made by a dentist or subscriber that is denied based upon
lack of medical necessity and to make changes in the prior
authorization process regarding denials and approvals of dental claims.

Property and Casualty:

HB 444 - Windstorm Underwriting Association;
authorize to levy recoupable and nonrecoupable
assessments.

Approved: 4/3/2019
Effective: 7/1/2019

This Bill makes significant changes to the Mississippi Windstorm
Underwriting Association chapter, Title 83, Chapter 34:

Changes the method in which assessments are levied upon
insurers and the recoupment process;

Regular Assessments are now called Non-recoupable
Assessments.

The new Cap for Non-recoupable Assessments is the lesser of
6% of the Association’s Total Limits in Force, or $250
million.

Prior years’ limits will determine Non-recoupable
Assessments for following year. If there are multiple storms,
the calendar year cap for multiple Non-recoupable
Assessments is $250 million.

Removes the threat of a Statewide policyholder surcharge
until all reserves (excluding Minimum Reserve), reinsurance
and non-recoupable assessments have been exhausted.
Windpool may issue policies with replacement cost value.
Extends the repealer on the nonadmitted policy fee to July 1,
2022

$3.5M of monies collected from the nonadmitted policy fee
shall be diverted to RFTAAF in FY20.

Amends Section 17-23-1 to establish a 13" round of
RFTAAF.




HB 630 - Insurance producers; create a limited
lines producer license for self-storage insurance.

Approved: 3/11/2019
Effective: 7/1/2019

Amends 8§ 83-17-53 and 83-17-63 to include self-storage insurance as
a limited line of insurance; and creates a new section to provide for a
self-storage limited lines insurance producer license, and to provide for
certain requirement subject thereto.

HB 785 - Motor vehicle dealers; revise blanket
liability insurance requirements for.

Approved: 3/15/2019
Effective:  7/1/2019

Amends Section 63-17-75 to clarify that certain blanket liability
insurance requirements for motor vehicle dealers to not apply when the
motor vehicle dealer’s inventory does not have a motor.

HB 925 - Vehicle service contracts; revise
definitions for laws regulating.

Approved; 3/2/2019
Effective: 7/1/2019

Amends Section 83-65-103 to revise the definition of vehicle service
contract to include incidental payment or indemnity under limited
circumstance, including towing, rental and emergency road services,
and to provide a definition of road hazard.

Appropriation:

HB 1639 — Appropriation; Mississippi Insurance
Department

Approved: 4/16/2019
Effective: 7/1/2019

Provides an appropriation from the General Fund to the MID for
FY19. Includes a $2,500,000 appropriation to RFTAAP in FY 20; of
which $150,000 shall be provided to the Inverness Fire Department for
the purchase of a fire truck to service Mississippi Delta Community
College, and to the Decatur Fire Department for the purchase of a fire
truck to service East Central Community College.

HB 1640 - Appropriation; State Fire Academy

Approve: 4/16/2019
Effective: 7/1/2019

Provides an appropriation from the General Fund to the State Fire
Academy for FY20.

SB 3065 Bonds; authorize for various purposes

Approved: 4/12/2019

Effective: Effective upon

passage

Provides additional appropriations to various state agencies. Section 2
of the bill provides $11M to the State Fire Academy for the
construction of a dormitory and disaster staging area.




